Four outstanding sons of the Sissala land were singled out and awarded for their exemplary and their sterling performance in their chosen fields of endeavour by National Youth Authority as part of this year`s celebration of African youth day by the National Youth Authority  in the Upper West (NYA) .They also organised a two days skills training for the youth who were lucky to be part of this year’s festivity to provide them with the needed skills to become productive citizens to contribute significantly to national development. The training, includes beads making, soap making and others.

Mr Mumuni Sulemana, the Director of the Upper West Regional Secretariat of National Youth Authority urged the participants to take the training seriously and added that it would help reduce their poverty level which would go a long way to fight the issue of child marriage in the country since poverty was a major cause of teenage pregnancy. He also added that the revolution of crime and social vices in the country was as a result of high rate of youth unemployment. The celebration was  towards appreciating the hardworking youth, District and Municipality in the region at the plush Jirapa Dubai with the theme Upper West Youth and Mentors Achievers Awards.The winners were among others; Mr, Ahmed Bening (Inspiring Male), Mr. Kissi Eric Dankwa (Enterprising Youth), Mr. Hudu Muah (Youth Commender), And Mr. Moses Dramani Luri (Rural Youth Empowerment Agent). All the award winner were grateful  for the recognition and said it will propel them to achieve higher heights.

Ahmed Benin currently works as the Deputy General Secretary of Sub-regional body Pam African Youth Union with office at Sudan. Moses Luri is an NGO (SILDEP) activist working to improve lives in the Region, Eric Kissi is the CEO of Kedan and industrialist who opened the first maize factory in the North. Whilst Hudu Muah is crusading youth promoting the Welfare of the youth.

Previous winners of the award includes Dr. Papa Kwesi Ndoum, Hon. Alban Sumani Bagbin etc. Radford FM wishes to congratulate all the award winners


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here